killofilms.blogg.se

Selmer reference 54 alto antique
Selmer reference 54 alto antique






selmer reference 54 alto antique
  1. #SELMER REFERENCE 54 ALTO ANTIQUE SERIAL NUMBER#
  2. #SELMER REFERENCE 54 ALTO ANTIQUE SERIAL#
  3. #SELMER REFERENCE 54 ALTO ANTIQUE PC#

By the way, I used to copy photos onto my PC of eBay auctions that are selling fake Selmer saxes. in your case it would show merely as N.727204.

#SELMER REFERENCE 54 ALTO ANTIQUE SERIAL#

What it SHOULD have on the back is the 'reference' symbol which is some sort of highly stylized R' and below that it will have the serial number. I'm expecting the horn you're inquiring about has all those features. AND they don't say 'Made in France' on the back just above the ferrule. The reason I think it's a fake is because the real Reference 54 saxes do not say SAS on the back. You can appreciate the frumpy dirty look on the bell.I am thinking that this is a fake, but will withhold judgement until I see some photos from you. Here's some photos of my Ref 54 prior to the airplane stripper. I would have been equally happy with either horn and I decided to sell the Mark VI so that there would never be any suspicion that I did anything underhanded to get a good deal on his Mark VI. But, when I played the horns side by side with the same set up, they really sounded the same and felt the same. It occurred to me to buy his horn and sell my Ref 54. Outstanding instrument! When he retired, he asked me about selling it, which I agreed to do on his behalf. My younger brother, by the way, was the original owner of a 1975 Mark VI alto sax. But I'm not going to buy one of these fakes when I have the real thing. I'd like to see one in person to see how it stacks up against the real thing. Who knows how this thing plays or if it's in tune. I think that if they put their efforts into legit instruments instead of fakes, they could probably make more money. It can't be that cheap to do and they don't charge much for these fakes. 100% of them are used for the fake Selmers.Ī lot of work goes into creating a fake Selmer. I have seen plenty of examples of this particular case.

#SELMER REFERENCE 54 ALTO ANTIQUE SERIAL NUMBER#

The serial number should be closer to the ferrule and the numbers should be much further apart instead of cramped together.Īnd of course, the case. The pants guard is nothing like the proper one. The octave key does not have the Selmer embossed circle on the pad cup, and the Selmer S symbol looks to my eye as if it were laser engraved rather than stamped into the metal.

selmer reference 54 alto antique

But, it is stylistically clearly different. The ferrule just below the serial number shows vertical indentations, somewhat similar to that of Mark VI saxes of the 1970's and probably the Mark VII's of that era as well. I did this project 4 or 5 years ago and have continued with it ever since.Īnyway, comparing your photos to my actual real Ref 54 shows a number of discrepancies.

selmer reference 54 alto antique

As expected, this cosmetic work had absolutely no impact on the sound of this horn. So, at the completion of my project, I basically ended up with a bare brass Selmer sax. I didn't bother with the keywork as the horn played really well as is, and I didn't want to repad it.

selmer reference 54 alto antique

I ended up dismantling my sax, and then I used airplane stripper, which is extremely strong, to remove the original finish. This finish doesn't hold up well and as it starts to deteriorate, it gets this really dirty appearance. I bought mine used from an eBay auction from a guy who used it professionally, a LOT. The only way to tell positively is the wicked play test comparison.Īs it happens, my personal and beloved alto sax is a Reference 54 originally with the matte finish. If this sax is only a copy, I’ll bet they didn’t copy the alloys that make up the Selmer Paris saxophone. The copper content in the Paris horn absolutely sings. Third, the horn on Amazon looks authentic, as good as it gets! This saxophone does not look like a real Selmer Paris saxophone I’ll bet it doesn’t play like one. I’m sure this matte saxophone has a much lower price. Second, the S on the neck is beautiful on the Paris Saxophone, and is colored in black so the distinctive S shows up. First the case the Paris saxophone has a sax shaped case, this horn does not. I went to view the matte Selmer Paris Reference 54 on Amazon. Probably down to the ribbed body construction. It is the spitting image of the matte Selmer in every way. This saxophone certainly gives great features. Hi, from Tkipfer, thanks for your inquiry, we always like to hear from new people.








Selmer reference 54 alto antique